Diana: Portrait of a Princess

Diana: Portrait of a

  • ASIN: 0684853922

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait: A Novel (Six Tudor Queens)

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait:

The surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII’s wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series—for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown. Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in England and he sees her in the flesh. Some think her attractive, but Henry knows he can never love her. What follows is the fascinating story of an awkward royal union that somehow had to be terminated. Even as Henry begins to warm to his new wife and share her bed, his attention is captivated by one of her maids-of-honor. Will he accuse Anna of adultery as he did Queen Anne Boleyn, and send her to the scaffold? Or will he divorce her and send her home in disgrace? Alison Weir takes a fresh and astonishing look at this remarkable royal marriage by ...

  • ASIN: B07GMW5RT4

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Peter the Great, Nicholas and Alexandra, and The Romanovs returns with another masterpiece of narrative biography, the extraordinary story of an obscure young German princess who traveled to Russia at fourteen and rose to become one of the most remarkable, powerful, and captivating women in history. Born into a minor noble family, Catherine transformed herself into Empress of Russia by sheer determination. Possessing a brilliant mind and an insatiable curiosity as a young woman, she devoured the works of Enlightenment philosophers and, when she reached the throne, attempted to use their principles to guide her rule of the vast and backward Russian empire. She knew or corresponded with the preeminent historical figures of her time: Voltaire, Diderot, Frederick the Great, Empress Maria Theresa of Austria, Marie Antoinette, and, surprisingly, the American naval hero, John Paul Jones. Reaching the throne fired by Enlightenment philosophy and determined to become the embodiment of the "benevolent despot" idealized by Montesquieu, she found herself always contending with the deeply ingrained realities of Russian life, including serfdom. She persevered, and for thirty-four years the government, foreign policy, cultural development, and welfare of t...

  • ASIN: B0064I14FM

Grace: An Intimate Portrait of Princess Grace by Her Friend and Favorite Photographer

Grace: An Intimate Portrait of Princess Grace by

A biography of Princess Grace features anecdotes and never-before-published photographs and discusses her private and public lives

  • ASIN: 0679418032

Diana in Search of Herself: Portrait of a Troubled Princess

Diana in Search of Herself: Portrait of a

  • ASIN: B008NW6M0O

Portraits of a Princess: Travels with Diana

Portraits of a Princess: Travels with

The dramatic public life of Diana, Princess of Wales was enacted against a backdrop of exciting foreign destinations.These are inextricably linked to some of the most significant events in her own journey. Who can forget the lonely Princess at the Taj Mahal, the "War of the Waleses" in South Korea, the glamorous Diana, darling of Manhattan fundraisers, or the Queen of Hearts in an African refugee camp? These are just some of the unforgettable images revisited in Portraits of a Princess--Travels with Diana.Patrick Jephson, Diana's private secretary for many years, gives his unique perspective of his time spent with the Princess. As the man who organized nearly all of her foreign travel and accompanied her on most of it, his viewpoint provides the book with a unique sense of authority.For Portraits of a Princess Jephson reassembles the core team that worked with him on orchestrating Diana's worldwide crusade: the press secretary, the security chief and the Princess's personal assistant.From this unmatched archive of experience came candid and entertaining anecdotes which add colour to fascinating behind-the-scenes details of the logistics of a royal superstar on tour: how the press coverage was organized and orchestrated, how the protocol experts were kept happy and how transport a...

  • ASIN: 0312337825

Portrait of a Princess: Book 2 (Ellie Kate Marchand)

Portrait of a Princess: Book 2 (Ellie Kate

Presumed dead, Ellie Kate Marchand wakes in a cottage to the face of a new ally and under the threat of a new day. She has survived one assassin and one brush with death, but she knows that more will come, and that King Richard will not stop until she is dead and he has his war with Grunwald. A journey across the country brings Ellie farther from the Glass Castle, but closer to understanding the events that took place both while she was there, and long before. As she and the woodcutter, Liam, fight off assassins and try to unravel the mystery of Goneril Scrimshaw, dark forces are still at work and aim to prevent Ellie from escaping Trenway.

  • ASIN: B077S5XY1H

Crowned in a Far Country: Portraits of Eight Royal Brides

Crowned in a Far Country: Portraits of Eight

Though of eminent birth and status in their own right, the women of Crowned in a Far Country all left the countries of their birth to marry heirs to great thrones. They all shared an inbred sense of duty and a genuine desire to see it performed. None fought against what she saw as her destiny but only sought to fulfill it. Some were passionate, others less so. Some were good wives; some were caring mothers. They were all catalysts, the pivots of their worlds for a time. More than just a window into the politics and power brokering of royal marriage, Crowned in a Far Country charts the transformations of privileged princesses into women of power and historical importance.

  • Brand: Brand: Touchstone
  • ASIN: 0743296370

THE PRINCESS CASAMASSIMA by Henry James author of A Portrait of a Lady; The Bostonians; The Wings Of the Dove; The Golden Bowl; Daisy Miller; The Ambassadors

THE PRINCESS CASAMASSIMA by Henry James author of

Henry James (15 April 1843 – 28 February 1916) was an American-born writer. He is regarded as one of the key figures of 19th-century literary realism. He was the son of Henry James, Sr. and the brother of philosopher and psychologist William James and diarist Alice James.He is best known for a number of novels showing Americans encountering Europe and Europeans. His method of writing from a character's point of view allowed him to explore issues related to consciousness and perception, and his style in later works has been compared to impressionist painting. His imaginative use of point of view, interior monologue and unreliable narrators brought a new depth to narrative fiction.James contributed significantly to literary criticism, particularly in his insistence that writers be allowed the greatest possible freedom in presenting their view of the world. James claimed that a text must first and foremost be realistic and contain a representation of life that is recognisable to its readers. Good novels, to James, show life in action and are, most importantly, interesting.In addition to his voluminous works of fiction he published articles and books of travel, biography, autobiography, and criticism, and wrote plays. James alternated between America and Europe for the first twenty...

  • ASIN: B06XMR5LJ2

Princess Diana 1961-1997: Diana Princess Of Wales Journal With A Painted Portrait Of Di Perfect Gift For Her Lovers

Princess Diana 1961-1997: Diana Princess Of Wales Journal

Princess Di journal is a perfect gift. This notebook in size 6 x 9", on ruled paper with 120 pages, is great for keeping daily records, for doodling, sketching, or school notes. Perfect for kids or adults who love and adore Princess Diana.

  • ASIN: 1091203490
Similar Princess Portrait Results
Princess Portrait Video Results
           

Portrait of a Princess

Princess Portrait

This song and video pay homage to the traditional fairytale, but with a contemporary and decidedly adult twist. Billed as "a fantasmagorical work of fictional fabulosity," the film "is a frivolous, fairytale frolic intended solely for harmless, humorous purposes to lighten up an occasionally dull...

Tags: Julie Atherton,Paul Spicer,Sheridan Smith,Russe...

Mina Kaye - Grad Showcase - Portrait of a Princess (In a Disney Way) by Michael Bruce

Princess Portrait

At my graduation showcase!

Tags: broadway,musical theatre,portrait of a princess...

PORTRAIT OF A PRINCESS

Princess Portrait

Music and lyrics by Michael Bruce

Tags: Phantom,of,the,Opera